Baxter announces squad to face Nigeria

New Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has announced his first squad as national team boss.

Baxter will be in charge of his first game in the hot seat after taking over from the sacked Shakes Mashaba for his side’s away 2019 African Nations Cup qualifier against Nigeria.

“When I’m selecting this squad I’m looking for some continuity‚” Baxter said on Thursday.

“The time that’s been spent with the players prior to me arriving‚ we don’t just want to throw the baby out with the bath water.

“I certainly want to bring in some players that I believe can add value. And I certainly want to reward some players.”

Bafana 25-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)‚ Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)‚ Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits)

Defenders: Rivaldo Coetzee (Ajax Cape Town)‚ Sifiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits)‚ Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits)‚ Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs)‚ Lorenzo Gordinho (Kaizer Chiefs)‚ Mulomowandau Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs)‚ Abbubaker Mobara (Orlando Pirates)‚ Tebogo Langerman (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Midfielders: Keagan Dolly (Montpellier)‚ Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City)‚ Dean Furman (SuperSport United)‚ Andile Jali (KV Oostende)‚ Kamohelo Mokotjo (FC Twente‚ Netherlands)‚ Hlompo Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)‚ Bongani Zungu (Vitoria Guimaraes‚ Portugal)‚ Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Strikers: Sibusiso Vilakazi (Mamelodi Sundowns)‚ Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)‚ Tokelo Rantie (Genclerbirligi‚ Turkey)‚ Kermit Erasmus (Lens‚ France)‚ Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City)‚ Thamsanq Gabuza (Orlando Pirates)