“Khama Billiat robbed by CAF” – Zimbabwean millionaire awards their Golden Boy massive R10m

The Zimbabwean football fraternity expressed their disappointment after their Golden Boy Khama Billiat missed the prestigious African Player of the Year for 2016 (Based In Africa) award to fellow Mamelodi Sundowns goal keeper Ugandan national Denis Onyango.

Khama Billiat was tipped to take the award with ease after playing an instrumental role to help Mamelodi Sundowns clinch their first ever continental silverware.

The Uganda international beat off stiff competition from teammate Khama Billiat and TP Mazembe and Zambia international Rainford Kalaba, accumulating 252 votes in the process.

Billiat finished second behind Onyango with 228 votes, while Kalaba came in third with 206 votes, Caf confirmed at the awards.

However, the Zimbabweans feel short changed and tagged the voting system dubious.

“How on earth did Khama(Billiat) lost to his fellow team mate? He (Khama) was crowned the South African best player last season, where was this Onyango? They both helped Mamelodi Sundowns win the Caf Champions League Cup but Khama scored crucial scores and assists. They both helped their nations to qualify for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) in Gabon, Zimbabwe even qualified with games in hand so tell me where did Onyango out-played Khama??” fumed one Zimbabwean representative.

Despite Khama Billiat losing, he walked away more richer after he bagged a walloping R10 million prize money from the famous soccer loving Zimbabwean multi- millionaire Sir Wicknell Chivayo. Chivayo is known for self sponsoring the Zimbabwean soccer teams both men and female teams. Khama Billiat is expected to be handed his money after the Gabon Afcon to help him focus on the tournament an official revealed.

Chivayo takes Billiat and Malajila on shopping spree

Wicknell Chivayo spoiling Zimabwean players  Costa Nhamoinesu and Knowledge Musona in France

Sundowns keeper Onyango named Caf Player of the Year (Based in Africa)

Sundowns coach Mosimane wins African Coach of the Year award